The Weight of Ink

$16.99

An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt’s Possession and Geraldine Brooks’s People of the Book

  • by Rachel Kadish
  • 2017
  • Paperback

WINNER OF A NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD

A USA TODAY BESTSELLER

In stock

SKU: jmm220 Categories: ,

Description

by Rachel Kadish
2017
Paperback

WINNER OF A NATIONAL JEWISH BOOK AWARD
A USA TODAY BESTSELLER

An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt’s Possession and Geraldine Brooks’s People of the Book

Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history.

As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents’ scribe, the elusive “Aleph.”

Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind.


Get Updates From the Museum

HOURS OF OPERATION

Mon - Thurs 10AM - 5PM
Friday 10AM - 3PM
Saturday CLOSED
Sunday 12PM - 4PM

FOLLOW US!

GET IN TOUCH

1360 N Prospect Avenue
Milwaukee, WI 53202

(414) 390-5730
[email protected]